Premier Trial Attorneys in Northern California
Call Us Today

What are California’s Requirements for Auto Insurance?

For any and all drivers in California, insurance coverage is a requirement. There are minimum coverage limits that are considered required whenever anyone gets behind the wheel. These policies exist to protect drivers in the event of an accident, but far too often individuals carry just the minimum or they don’t carry insurance at all.

It’s important to recognize the minimum requirements for auto insurance and what it means if you are involved in an accident. You should also understand how additional coverage can benefit you during this type of situation.

The Minimum Coverage Requirements

There are two main types of insurance policies that required under law: liability and uninsured motorist. It’s important to recognize what these cover and the amount that must be present on the policy:

  • Minimum bodily injury liability coverage: The state requires drivers to carry a minimum of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage. This means the insurance will pay up to $15,000 in damages per person when you’re at fault for the accident, and up to $30,000 total for the whole accident.
  • Minimum property damage liability coverage: This policy protects you when you’re at fault for the accident and the minimum coverage amount requires you to carry $5,000 for property damage you cause in an accident.
  • Minimum uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: This type of policy is required and helps should you suffer harm in an accident caused by an uninsured driver. The minimum amounts are $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
  • Minimum uninsured property damage coverage: This policy allows you to cover property damage costs in an accident caused by an uninsured driver. It requires a $3,500 minimum by the state.

Protecting yourself after an accident caused by negligence is important, especially if the insurance companies involved are not willing to work with you as they should. Our San Francisco car accident lawyers work with you to protect your rights.

At The Matiasic Firm, we’re committed to helping you understand your rights every step of the way and working to help you achieve the most positive outcome possible. At the end of the day, you’re our top priority and we’re ready to go the extra mile on your behalf.

Call our firm today at (415) 858-6692.

Our Offices

Attentive & Undeterrable Representation
  • San Francisco County

    44 Montgomery St., Suite 3850
    San Francisco, CA 94104

    (415) 858-6692

  • Los Angeles County

    355 S. Grand Ave., Suite 2450
    Los Angeles, CA 90071

    (213) 699-2083

  • Sacramento County

    980 9th Street, 16th Floor Sacramento, CA 95814

    (916) 634-1163

  • San Bernardino County

    11801 Pierce Street, Suite 200 Riverside, CA 92505

    (951) 602-5697